I Don’t Like To feel Bad When I Finish Reading a Book

Wow. I don’t feel good after finishing this. I feel depressed, blue. The writing was excellent the emotional depth completely overwhelming. I don’t read books with rape. I don’t like to see it used as entertainment. There was nothing here but brutal honesty about all the views. Each person had a different reaction, different reasoning, it was painful to read at times. I finished this book and didn’t feel good. I’m glad I read it now, but if I had known what it was about before I picked it up I wouldn’t have read it. I read for release, escape, the dream, not a nasty dose of reality like this book went into. I am rating this on my feelings on the book not the writing.
Humans can be so cruel. Humans can be such selfish jerks. Humans can reason anything no matter how horrible if it make sit easier on them. Humans justifying rape is WRONG. The mentality of this town is so wrong. Humans will fight dirty to stay in the crowd. Humans can also be kind, unwavering and wonderful but these standouts can be rare in tough times.
This book, arguh, emotional roller coaster. I’ve known all these people at one time in my life. The realistic feel of them makes the punch in the gut more painful. It’s all begins to decline with the rape of a 15 year old girl. You know the story, you’ve herd in on the news on TV shows, the blame game. Mr. Backman takes us to a deeper level and to the outer levels of this traumatic event. How Hockey rules over empathy, over friends, over family in this town and how it goes down, down.33413128.jpg

Leave a Reply

