My First French Baguette From The Bread Baker’s Apprentice

I worked for two days to make three loaves. I followed the complicated recipe carefully.  measuring with a digital scale, checking the temp, timing everything…I even went and bought a linen couche. I went through the steam steps, burnt my face doing that 😦  Finally last night we had the bread, It was under whelming, tasteless even. I almost cried on my too dry tasteless bread. I’ve made  much better bread than this using the wet dough method and slow dough method. This is the second recipe I’ve made from this book. I made the English Muffins, meh, not great either.  I bought this book so I’d understand the formula behind great breads but I am beginning to wonder if this book is for me. Two recipes, two disappointing results. I’m going to give this one another try with a slightly wetter dough and a touch more salt and see if it improves.

Anyone got any tips ?

Oh and the degas nightmare… I will use that on others. Mwahahahhahahahaha. here are some photos two from the book, 4 from my kitchen.

Leave a Reply

