Slow Rise Bread Dough Success

I’ve been reading  d155038813372313880ed46b515b05a5 And he takes about a slow rise being the best for many reasons. I usually only let mine rise 2 hours or till it doubles. I was reading another blog an saw that they tried it with success. I had to try it the pictures had me drooling. I’ve been slowly reading this the formulas are foreign to me but I want to have them stuck in my head so I work slowly at it.

It was so easy, the flavor was so much better, the texture chewy and springy. I will not be doing the quick rise much anymore. It makes one loaf. On the second batch I tripled the recipe and made two larger loafs they cam e out great.

So I tried this

3 cups unbleached flour all purpose

1/2tsp rapid rise yeast

1 3/4 tsp salt

1 1/2 cup water

mix in large bowl, you want it soft and sticky

cover with plastic wrap, and a towel it cool weather

let sit for 12-18 hours undisturbed

Preheat over and cast iron dutch oven to 450 (3.5 Qt dutch oven is suggested I used a 4 Qt so it came out a little less dome shaped) I will be adjusting the size to fit my pot

Pull out sprinkle flour in bottom of hot pot

Flour hands well, grab dough try to round it, drop in pot, cover and bake for 30 min

Uncover, bake another 15 min or till as brown as you like it.

Cool on rack

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

