The Geeky Chef Cookbook- My ARC of the Month

240x4009781631060496

The Book Blurb

Geek out with recipes inspired by books, movies, television, and video games!

You’ve conquered comic con. You binge watch Star Wars regularly. Now, it’s time to get your geek on in the kitchen!

Cassandra Reeder loves to cook, and she’s a bona-fide mega-geek. Comic-lover, avid gamer, and sci-fi and fantasy lover, she started The Geeky Chef in 2008. She creates real-life recipes for all the delicious foods you’ve seen in your favorite sci-fi and fantasy movies, TV shows, and video games. From Game of Thrones and the Hunger Games to Doctor Who, the Legend of Zelda and the World of Warcraft, this book features over 60 recipes and photos that you can re-create right in your own home for the geek in your life. Finally learn to create Butterbeer and Pumpkin Pasties from Harry Potter. Indulge in the Lemon Cakes from Game of Thrones. Sip from a bowl of Plomeek Soup from Star Trek and enjoy with Peeta’s Cheesy Bread from the Hunger Games right in your kitchen! Fantasy foods are fantasy no longer…

Okay, now who wouldn’t want that ? I was thrilled, squealing with delight when I got this precious item for review, and just before The New Avengers Age of Ultron is released. Yes, I will make a something special for movie day. I’m not sure what but I’ll be posting about it. Maybe the Shawarma ? It is a dish they ate during the credit scenes in a New York place.It sounds like a Gyro I can veggie it up easy, substituting potable mushrooms or roasted potatoes for the chicken

I watched with my kids and read through some Dr. Who comics/show my daughters and I made fish sticks and custard, we sweet vanilla custard. It was edible but not good, okay it was kind of gross. Thank the gods there is a recipe for it and the custard is not the vanilla infused type I made but a mustardy sauce that sounds fabulous. I am quietly throwing away the previous recipe my daughters had. 😀

Silent Green, remember that movie ? It freaked me out when I was a kid and left a whole generation with green cookie jokes. There is a recipe for Soylent Green cookies ! I am going to sit my adult children down and watch this movie with them with a serving of cookies. Mwahahhahahhahaa. Why did I not have this recipe when I was a teenager ?

Desserts- on my must make quickly list- South Park’s Salty Balls, Kingdom Hearts Sea Salt Ice Cream, Pokemon’s Poffins. I will be running an extra mile everyday to keep the weight down I see.

Leave a Reply

